223 Fourth Avenue | 10 am to 4 pm
Explore the ornate lobby, with its bronze clock and marble accents. It is stunning!
A volunteer docent will be on-site to reveal the stories of this building.
Building capacity due to COVID is 10 people at a time.
Please be patient, as most people’s visit will be 10-15 minutes.
ABOUT THIS BUILDING
The Benedum Trees Building was called the Machesney Building until 1911 when it became the headquarters of the Benedum Trees Oil Company. The building was commissioned by Caroline Jones Machesney, the society hostess and daughter of a banker. Designed by Thomas H. Scott and built in 1905, the building stands at 19 stories tall. For 40 years, the fifteenth floor was home to the offices of Joe Trees and Mike Benedum. Presently, the building houses several foundations (including the Benedum Foundation), law firms, and other professional organizations.
Wheelchair Accessible Entrance: NO
Wheelchair Accessible Restrooms: NO
Public Restrooms: NO
Photography Allowed: YES