900 Middle Street
Categories: Architecture/Design Firm, Office Space
The earliest records of the building was discovered in the 1867/68 Allegheny City Directory which shows George Schneider, Blacksmith, Middle and Second.
In the 1868/69 Directory it shows John Schmittdiel of Schmittdiel & Co. Second and Middle and it also shows Schmittdiel & Snider, horseshoers, 61 Second. This suggest that George owned a horseshoing business independently then in partnership with Schmittdiel.
An 1880 Census shows John and Sophia Schmittdiel, both age 40 living in the neighboring house (still standing) along with their 8 children ages 16, 14, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4 and 8/12. Plus Sophia’s mom, Marylin Eberhardt!
There is also an invoice prepared by Sophia Schmittdiel from January 1st, 1884 addressed to Eberhart & Ober (at the time, the largest Allegheney City brewery) for the last quarter of 1883. It includes 185 shoes and other items for a total of $71.68.
The blacksmith shop and the adjacent house would be transferred a few more times until around circa 1920 when the Korinis family purchased the buildings and turned the shop into a hard tack candy and chocolate shop. They would sell their wares at the Allegheny City Market and later at a kiosk in the Northway Mall.
By around 2000 the candy business had run its course and the buildings were sold to the current owners. The restoration took place in 2006 and has operated as a design and architectural studio since that time.
YOUR EXPERIENCE: An open studio to explore, learn more about the history of this building from the current Owner, and the restoration to its current state.
Wheelchair Accessible: Yes
Restrooms Available: Yes
Wheelchair Accessible Restrooms: No
Photography Restrictions: None